historical societies links
history links
Historical Societies
History
Other
Northwest Chicago Historical Society Links to Other Web Sites
NWCHS logo

Historical Societies Links:

The Chicago History Museum - http://www.chicagohs.org/

Chicago Maritime Society - http://www.chicagomaritimesociety.org/

Eastland Disaster Historical Society - http://www.eastlanddisaster.org/default.htm

The Edgewater Historical Society - http://www.edgewaterhistory.org/

Irving Park Historical Society - http://www.iphs.org/

Northern Illinois Chapter of the American Historical Society of Germans from Russia - http://www.ahsgr.org/northern_illinois_chapter.htm

Park Ridge Historical Society - http://www.pennyville.org/

Polish Genealogical Society of America - http://www.pgsa.org/

Ridge Historical Society - http://www.ridgehistoricalsociety.org/

Rogers Park/West Ridge Historical Society - http://www.rpwrhs.org/rpwrhs/

Southeast Chicago Historical Society - http://www.neiu.edu/~reseller/sesidewlcme.html

Edgebrook Historical Society -
http://edgebrookhistoricalsociety.com

Lakes Region Historical Society - http://www.lakesregionhistory.org



other links
return to top button

Other Links:

Community Partners

Bucktown Community Organization - http://www.bucktown.org/

Chicago's Chopin Monument - http://www.chopinmonumentinchicago.com/

The Community of North Mayfair - http://northmayfair.org

Edison Park Chamber of Commerce - http://www.edisonpark.com/

Forest Glen Community Club - http://www.forestglenchicago.org/

Greater Avondale Chamber of Commerce - http://www.greateravondale.com/GACC/

Harwood Heights-Norridge Chamber of Commerce - http://www.harwoodchamber.org/

Jefferson Masonic Association - http://jeffersonmasonicassociation.org/

The Jefferson Park Chamber of Commerce - http://www.jeffersonpark.net/

The Jefferson Park Neighborhood Association - http://www.jpna.net

Kolbus-John V. May Funeral Home - http://www.kolbusmayfh.com/index.cfm

The Nadig Newspapers - http://www.nadignewspapers.com

The Newberry Library - http://www.newberry.org/

Oriole Park Community Club - http://www.orioleparkcommunityclub.org/

Our Urban Times - http://www.oururbantimes.com/

The Placemaking Movement's Polish Triangle Redevelopment Initiative
http://theplacemakingmovement.ning.com/group/polishtriangle

The Polish American Cultural Club - http://www.polishamericanclub.org/

The Polish Museum of America - http://www.polishmuseumofamerica.org

Portage Park Neighborhood Association - http://www.portagepark.org/

The Villa District: The Villa Improvement League - http://www.thevillachicago.com/

 

 

Theaters

The Historic Portage Theater - http://www.portagetheater.org/

The Historic Gateway Theater -
http://www.copernicusfdn.org/theater.html

The Chopin Theatre
- http://www.chopintheatre.com/

Theatre Historical Society of America -
www.historictheatres.org

Historical Research on Homes

Plan of Re-Numbering City of Chicago:  August, 1909 - (24MB file) http://www.chsmedia.org/househistory/1909snc/start.pdf

City of Chicago Building Permits:  February 21, 1872 – June 30, 1954 - http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/documents/services/mapguides/buildingpermit/

Chicago History Museum: Architecture and Building History - http://www.chicagohistory.org/research/resources/architecture

A Guide to Chicago's Street Name Changes - http://www.pgsa.org/US/chistcrossref.php

Chicago's Old Addresses: An explanation of early street numbering, with examples -

http://forgottenchicago.com/features/chicago-signs/old-addresses/

Old Telephone Numbers: When Chicago telephone numbers were more than just numbers. -

http://forgottenchicago.com/features/chicago-signs/old-telephone-numbers/

return to top button

History Links:

The Chicago History Journal - http://www.chicagohistoryjournal.com/

Early Chicago - http://www.earlychicago.com/

The Early History of O'Hare Airport: Orchard Place/Douglas Field - http://ohare.bensenville.lib.il.us/orchard.htm

Encyclopedia of Chicago - http://www.encyclopedia.chicagohistory.org/

Forgotten Chicago - http://forgottenchicago.com/

The History Channel - http://www.history.com/

The History Files - Get the inside story on some of Chicago's most memorable events - http://www.chicagohs.org/history/index.html

History Stories of Hollywood Park - http://francesarcher.com/serial-stories/hollywood-park-neighborhood/

Illinois Historic Preservation Agency - http://www.illinoishistory.gov/

Jazz Age Chicago - http://chicago.urban-history.org/

return to top button
logo text
Other Links